Using a non-panasonic flashgun with a GX7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP! Using a non-panasonic flashgun with a GX7

I've used a GX7 for 18 months or so, and am about to buy a flash gun to use with my kit. Now, being an impecunious pensioner, this is very unlikely to be a Panasonic unit. I realise that I will probably have to use this manually, but that won't be a problem for me. What is proving troublesome is that I have several old flashguns, some of which were dedicated to Pentax (my old allegiance), some of which were purely manual - and I can't get any them to work with my GX7. I've tried to change the menu settings to manual flash, taken off wireless connections, read the print of my PDF manual, and can't seem to make them work. As I only want to use the unit occasionally, being a mainly landscape photographer, I don't want to fork out cash for a replacement flash (which won't be a gold-plated Panasonic unit) without ensuring that it'll work first!

Has anyone got any suggestions as to how to make a GX7 work with a manual flash?

Re: Using a non-panasonic flashgun with a GX7

I would not try and use older electronic flash guns as they can provide a very high trigger voltage to the camera which will not do it any good at all. There is a list (long!) of flash guns and their trigger voltages, low voltage ones are usually ok. I think many Olympus and Panasonic cameras can only stand about 12 to 24 volts but don't quote me on that, it may be lower.
    You are much better off getting a flash dedicated for Oly/Pana, I have a Metz 48 but there are lots of other models available.
    Better to bite the bullet than fry your GX7 - it just ain't worth it.
    Last edited by Olypanfan; 21st April 2016, 06:58 PM. Reason: spelling error

Comment