Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New body or better lens???

Hi
    I am a newbie, but have a 520 with the standard 14-42mm lens and a 40-150mm lens.
    Now I do not for one minute think I use a fraction of the menu options on the 520, but I love taking photos and am really enjoying this new hobby.
    My question is: should I save for a better body (620 / E30) or a better lens - I can only dream of looking at the pro lenses atm, but you never know

As a faily basic user, is it the body that will give me the great improvements or the lens?

Many thanks
    Karen

Re: New body or better lens

I'd prefer to ask - what is it about my photography that could be improved and how much of that improvement could be helped by a hardware upgrade, if anything?

The perceived weaknesses of the E-520 are its small viewfinder, and simple three point AF system. Another is its high ISO performance (limited to 1600 ISO and at that setting some dark tone banding can be evident). The E-620 addresses all these issues and adds a few new benefits, like the option of a HLD-5 power grip, and the handy swing-out LCD screen. If you think any of these will be worthwhile, then a move to an E-620 can be recommended.

The 14-42 kit and 14-150 ket lenses are actually already very good. Maybe you feel the need to go wider, so a 9-18 could widen your scope, literally! Or you may find the 40-150 doesn't reach as far as you'd like, so a 70-300 or 50-200 might fit the bill. The kit lenses are aperture limited, so the more epensive lenses offer you added brightness and the ability to creatively limit depth of field. It's your choice!

Ian
    Founder/editor
    Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
    Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
    Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
    Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
    Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/