Advertisements

Go Back   Four Thirds User discussion forum > Equipment > Accessory talk

Accessory talk This section of the FTU forum is for discussions concerning all aspects of Four Thirds system accessories, including flash, extension tubes, teleconverters, etc.

Old 21st May 2009
Toymaker

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
UV Filters Heliopan vs ProMaster HGX or others???

I'm here in the US and I just bought a Panny G1 and both lenses and I need 52mm UV filters. I am considering the Heliopan or the Promaster HGX which is about $15 less. I'm a newbie so I'm not real knowledgeable on the quality of these filters.

Any info, ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.

Ansel Adams
Old 22nd May 2009
Animal Portraitist

Liked 33 Times in 25 Posts
Re: UV Filters Heliopan vs ProMaster HGX or others???

I recall some discussion of filters here a number of months ago, but I can't remember when or in which forum.

The issue seems to be a matter of personal opinion to a large degree. I don't know of anyone who does scientific comparison tests of filters. I personally have a Hoya Pro-1 Digital on one of my lenses and a Heliopan SH-PMC on another (both UV filters). I can't tell any difference in picture quality between the two. I can't say for sure that these filters make a difference over cheaper ones, but my theory is that it doesn't make sense to spend money on a great lens and then put a cheap piece of glass in front of it.

- Hal -
Old 23rd May 2009
Half member

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Ned Send a message via Yahoo to Ned Send a message via Skype™ to Ned

Quote:
Originally Posted by hschnee View Post
I can't say for sure that these filters make a difference over cheaper ones, but my theory is that it doesn't make sense to spend money on a great lens and then put a cheap piece of glass in front of it.