Advertisements


Go Back   Four Thirds User discussion forum > Equipment > Panasonic Lumix cameras > Lumix DMC-GF1

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th March 2013
mafpolo mafpolo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How big a card can a GF1 handle

What is the largest card I should use in the GF1?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th March 2013
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Ageing by the day
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 5,501
Thanks: 857
Thanked 716 Times in 431 Posts
Likes: 316
Liked 552 Times in 254 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

Hi and welcome.

I have seen folk mention a range of between 4Gb and 32Gb.

I hope this helps.

Regards. Barr1e
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 7,709
Blog Entries: 13
Thanks: 144
Thanked 760 Times in 466 Posts
Likes: 93
Liked 123 Times in 61 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

The GF1 is SDHC compliant, so that covers cards up to 32GB. You can also use an SDXC card on the GF1. SDXC cards are available up to around 256GB to date and the technical limit is 2TB.

Large capacity is not necessarily synonymous with fast transfer rates, incidentally.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th March 2013
mafpolo mafpolo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

Thanks. I was having problems with a 16gb card, and was concerned about a capacity issue. It must be a corrupt card.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 7,709
Blog Entries: 13
Thanks: 144
Thanked 760 Times in 466 Posts
Likes: 93
Liked 123 Times in 61 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

How spooky is that? SanDisk just called to ask if I wanted to have a look at their 64GB SDXC card...

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th March 2013
Ians Tata's Avatar
Ians Tata Ians Tata is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fredonia, NY. USA
Posts: 1,830
Thanks: 229
Thanked 249 Times in 204 Posts
Likes: 401
Liked 47 Times in 35 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

The size of the card would be any size that you prefer. Keep in mind though that using one very large capacity card rather than a few smaller ones carries the, however slight, risk of a corrupt card causing total loss of your efforts.

Jeff
__________________
My grandson, Ian (not our own FTU Ian), calls me "Tata", so I am...

Ian's Tata

Do Not Meddle In The Affairs Of Dragons...
For you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

http://ianstata.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ians-tata/
http://www.edwardswaterhouseinn.com/ 2014, 2015, & 2016 TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence
https://www.facebook.com/edwardswaterhouse
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th March 2013
ReggieB's Avatar
ReggieB ReggieB is offline
Gone to the Dark Side
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Holy City
Posts: 1,157
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 73
Thanked 60 Times in 47 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via AIM to ReggieB
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ians Tata View Post
The size of the card would be any size that you prefer. Keep in mind though that using one very large capacity card rather than a few smaller ones carries the, however slight, risk of a corrupt card causing total loss of your efforts.

Jeff
This is true. The default file system on an SDXC card isn't going to work in an HC device. You will have to reformat. The camera may or may not be able to do it properly. And they are less stable in the file systems designed for smaller partitions. But I use SDXC cards in HC MP3 players and have never had issues. There is always risk with storage.
__________________
~Reggie

Nikon D3s | D800 | D7100 | Nikkor 14-24 f/2.8 | 70-200 f/2.8 VR II | Sigma 35 f/1.4 Art | 50 f/1.4 Art | Zeiss 100 f/2 Makro
Panasonic DMC-L1 | PanaLeica 25 f/1.4
Panasonic GF5 | GF3 | 20 f/1.7 II


All images hosted courtesy of Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 7,709
Blog Entries: 13
Thanks: 144
Thanked 760 Times in 466 Posts
Likes: 93
Liked 123 Times in 61 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

The GF1 was SDXC compliant from the start, so I don't envisage any compatibility issues or need for reformatting. I'll check this when I get the SanDisk card later this week.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th March 2013
ReggieB's Avatar
ReggieB ReggieB is offline
Gone to the Dark Side
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Holy City
Posts: 1,157
Blog Entries: 2
Thanks: 73
Thanked 60 Times in 47 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via AIM to ReggieB
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
The GF1 was SDXC compliant from the start, so I don't envisage any compatibility issues or need for reformatting. I'll check this when I get the SanDisk card later this week.

Ian

Should bre fine if it's xc compliant. I thought it was only hc compliant. I always reformat in camera with a new card though. the camera should do it to whatever file system it uses natively.
__________________
~Reggie

Nikon D3s | D800 | D7100 | Nikkor 14-24 f/2.8 | 70-200 f/2.8 VR II | Sigma 35 f/1.4 Art | 50 f/1.4 Art | Zeiss 100 f/2 Makro
Panasonic DMC-L1 | PanaLeica 25 f/1.4
Panasonic GF5 | GF3 | 20 f/1.7 II


All images hosted courtesy of Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 7,709
Blog Entries: 13
Thanks: 144
Thanked 760 Times in 466 Posts
Likes: 93
Liked 123 Times in 61 Posts
Re: How big a card can a GF1 handle

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReggieB View Post
Should bre fine if it's xc compliant. I thought it was only hc compliant. I always reformat in camera with a new card though. the camera should do it to whatever file system it uses natively.
Yes, the GF1 was the first Lumix G camera to support SDXC.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:48 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2015, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger