Advertisements


Go Back   Four Thirds User discussion forum > Equipment > Motion pictures (Video)

Motion pictures (Video) The FTU forum board dedicated to video topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd October 2015
denl10 denl10 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Vashon, Washington
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Power supply for DMW-Yagh interface

Hello,

I purchased the YACH interface for my GH4 and am having difficulty deciding on a power supply. Indipro makes a battery powered supply. They also make an AC powered one that converts AC to DC 12V 6A. The YAGH specs list the power source as DC 12V 1.4A. Can I use the AC power supply?

Does anyone own the YAGH? If so, What power supply do you use? Panasonic does not make one which seems a little odd.

Thanks for your help.

Dennis Lambert
Vashon, Washington
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th October 2015
mrcountry mrcountry is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jacksonville Fl
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Power supply for DMW-Yagh interface

Please tell me if you found a power supply for the DMW-YAGH. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2015
denl10 denl10 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Vashon, Washington
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Power supply for DMW-Yagh interface

Hello Mr. Country,

I received the 12v 6A power supply and plugged it in and it works fine so far. The one I purchased was from Adorama, B&H has it too I believe. It is sold by Indipro, which from all I've read is a reputable company, though the product is made in China. What isn't? It was $79.95 with free shipping. I saw a 12v 5A on eBay for about $15-30 less expensive. From my research the most important thing is the voltage. So make sure whichever company you purchase from has a good reputation of making good 12V power supplies, that push a consistent 12 volts. Anything over 17 volts could damage both the GH4 and the Yagh.

I do have one question though and maybe you know the answer. Does a battery have to be in the camera when an external power supply is used? I haven't tried it yet.

Good Luck,

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th October 2015
mrcountry mrcountry is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jacksonville Fl
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Power supply for DMW-Yagh interface

I greatly appreciate the reply. I did order one of the Indipro power supplies, but i have not used the yagh as of yet so i would not know if it will power the camera without the battery. I will definitely test it later this week when the Indipro comes in. Thanks so much for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st October 2015
mrcountry mrcountry is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jacksonville Fl
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Power supply for DMW-Yagh interface

I tested the 12V XLR AC Power Adapter today and yes it will power both the camera and interface without the battery. This is going to be perfect for me as this is going to be used mostly in the studio.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mrcountry For This Useful Post:
hschnee (22nd October 2015)
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
video interface, yagh

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2015, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger