Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to change focusing screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    Posts
    544
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    46
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    59
    Thanked in
    45 Posts
    Likes: 13
    Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Post How to change focusing screen

    Changing focusing screen or (removing for cleaning) is not as hard as it sounds, but still you should be careful doing so. First of all, this procedure is best to be done at clean, dust-free place, if possible. If the dust will get on your camera's prism or on the screen itself, it is really annoying and cleaning may not be as easy. You will need a tool to manipulate with the screen, preferably tweezers (I am using pliers on these pictures, but it is not recommended at all). Some soft cloth (towel) can be used to cover your working place to help the screen in avoiding damage, if you accidentaly drop it.


    1.) Make sure your camera is off (removing battery can be a good idea).

    2.) Hold your E-1 pointing up at some 45 degrees or so. (Do not do the next step with camera pointing horizontally, focusing screen may just jump out of your camera when lock is opened).

    3.) Grab the frame lock (marked red) and pull it towards you. This can be easily done by a fingernail, but you can use a small screwdriver or any other small tool as well. The frame will flip down, exposing the screen.


    4.) Grab the screen by the small rectangular "dent" with tweezers (if you are using pliers, be VERY CAREFUL - leverage on pliers is quite high and screen is very fragile, you may crush the dent easily (just as I did when I was removing that screen for the first time )). Hold it firmly, but gently.


    5.) When holding the screen, lift it up a bit above the frame and pull it out of the camera carefully, so it won't collide with other parts.


    6.) Place it on the soft fabric surface and grab the other screen, then put it into the frame the same way you removed it. After that, you should put the former screen into the screen case to protect it from damage. Check if the new screen sits correctly in the frame.. if it is slightly off, just gently tap the camera with hand and it wil jump to it's position.


    7.) Finally, push the frame back to it's position. This can be done with finger, or you can use a toothpick (it is not as hard as metal, so even if it slips, there is much lower probability you will scratch something), pushing from outer side of the frame between frame and lock (marked red). It will click into position, check if it is locked properly, the pointy part of the frame should be clearly visible through the lock.


    And that is all, hope it will help someone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    756
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    102
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    42
    Thanked in
    24 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to change focusing screen

    Superbly done instructional post
    GF1 / E-5 / TM900

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    379
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    21
    Thanked in
    17 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to change focusing screen

    Sorry! you have missed off two very important steps at the end.

    1) Once new screen is back in place, sit down, wait 10 minutes for your muscles to stop twitching
    2) Pour yourself a strong drink, you deserve it.

    Note :- step one above is to prevent you spilling step 2


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    265
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    38
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    11
    Thanked in
    9 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to change focusing screen

    fantastic. i may give this a try when i get my screen. actually they said it's custom made and will take 4/5 days to make, so i might have it in two weeks. i will look this over as well as the instructions on katzeye's website. doesn't seem hard, i've done it with my 35mm, this screen is just very small and i don't know the inner workings of digital and think they are a lot more sensitive than with a film camera.

    and yeah, i second the drink after all this is done.
    Happily photographing within my camera's limitations.
    Website

    Flickr

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    Posts
    544
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    46
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    59
    Thanked in
    45 Posts
    Likes: 13
    Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: How to change focusing screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Howi View Post
    Sorry! you have missed off two very important steps at the end.

    1) Once new screen is back in place, sit down, wait 10 minutes for your muscles to stop twitching
    2) Pour yourself a strong drink, you deserve it.

    Note :- step one above is to prevent you spilling step 2


    That's right, I almost forgot these steps because of heart attack... ..as you can see, the dent on that screen was already crushed and when I was holding it this time with pliers in one hand, trying to get some close-up shots with E1+1454+FL50 combo in the other hand, the damned thing broke apart just at the moment I put it back in camera . Getting it out of frame without that dent is not easy nor safe, but I finally managed to do so and spent some really stressing moments trying to glue those small pieces(two of them, each smaller than 1mm) back into their places.
    Regards, Pavel.

    E-1(x2) | ZD 14-45 | ZD 14-54 | ZD 40-150 Mk.1 | ZD 70-300 | FL-50 | Velbon Sherpa 750R
    M42(Pancolar 50/1.8, Pentacon 200/4)+ M42->4/3 reduction

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    756
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    102
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    42
    Thanked in
    24 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to change focusing screen

    One more set of instructions:

    http://www.focusingscreen.com/work/e3en.htm


    .
    GF1 / E-5 / TM900

Similar Threads

  1. HELP! Pre focusing
    By Ron Binmore in forum Lumix DMC-G5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th November 2016, 12:22 PM
  2. Olympus FS-2 Focusing Screen
    By E1derful in forum For sale or wanted small ads
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th July 2014, 05:54 PM
  3. Can't change my avatar!!
    By Kiwi Paul in forum General discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 8th February 2013, 04:12 PM
  4. Split Focusing Screen
    By MrStiles in forum Accessory talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th March 2012, 07:55 AM
  5. Can anyone help me with focusing...
    By HughUK in forum Lumix DMC-GH2
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th August 2011, 07:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •