Thread: UV Filters Heliopan vs ProMaster HGX or others???

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

UV Filters Heliopan vs ProMaster HGX or others???

I'm here in the US and I just bought a Panny G1 and both lenses and I need 52mm UV filters. I am considering the Heliopan or the Promaster HGX which is about $15 less. I'm a newbie so I'm not real knowledgeable on the quality of these filters.

Any info, ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.
    Red Panasonic G1 | Red ZS3 (ordered) | Mac Power Book | Photoshop Essentials 6
    SoCalRich's flickr

There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.

Ansel Adams

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    203 Posts
    Liked 103 Times in 74 Posts

Re: UV Filters Heliopan vs ProMaster HGX or others???

I recall some discussion of filters here a number of months ago, but I can't remember when or in which forum.

The issue seems to be a matter of personal opinion to a large degree. I don't know of anyone who does scientific comparison tests of filters. I personally have a Hoya Pro-1 Digital on one of my lenses and a Heliopan SH-PMC on another (both UV filters). I can't tell any difference in picture quality between the two. I can't say for sure that these filters make a difference over cheaper ones, but my theory is that it doesn't make sense to spend money on a great lens and then put a cheap piece of glass in front of it.

- Hal -
    A Still Mind - Photography, Music, Meditation, Ministry - www.astillmind.net
    Olympus E-M5; Panasonic-Leica DG Summilux 25mm; Zuiko 12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD; Sigma 105 Macro; Rokinon (Samyang) 7.5mm fisheye; Olympus 8/1.8 PRO fisheye; FL-50R; Giottos MT-8361 tripod with Gitzo GH2780QR ballhead.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    81 Posts
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by hschnee View Post