Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    Confess, a new relative new-comer to the MFT world (from Nikon DX). Enjoying the flexibility of/in being able to customize button functions and have done so with several. Hoping to control the silent shutter option with my Fn2 button, but not quite sure if or how I can do so? Grateful for any advice. Thanks.

    Todd

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Epping Forest
    Posts
    783
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    129
    Thanked in
    101 Posts
    Likes: 9
    Liked 170 Times in 87 Posts

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    Hi

    I see you have an E-M1, the only way I can think of doing this is to make up the setting you need including electronic shutter and save them into a myset.
    Then set the FN2 button to that myset number.
    The only thing with this is the will revert to the settings before you pushed the FN2 button when it goes to sleep or is powered down.
    The way round this is to set that myset to a function on the mode dial which you don't use, then it will stay with these settings.

    Hope this makes sense, others may have other solutions.
    All the best

    Andy

    E1,E5,E420,OM1(N),14-54,12-60SWD,7-14,50-200,50mm F2 macro,25mm pancake,EC14,Sigma 50-500,OM50mm(F1.8),OM28mm(f2.8),FL36,HLD4,HLD2,Epson P3000,Manfrotto 680b monopod,crap tripod,various filters/CF cards.


    http://www.flickr.com/photos/andypeter/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    Thanks Andym,

    I'd actually given that path some thought, just never got to studying how to go about it. Obviously, I'm looking for the lazy way to get there.

    While I'm still on the fence with the EVF, I am growing to like the camera more and more. Tried to catch some lunar shots last nite, and trying to figure out how to manually focus with it on a big white dot was simply hopeless! Never had an issue with an optical VF. Hopefully I'll eventually figure that out, too. Hard part is I'll often go maybe 2 or 3 weeks w/o touching the camera, then trying to recall every mod I've made and how to get to it becomes very un-fun. Guess I just need to use it more. Thanks again for your advice.

    Todd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead UK
    Posts
    7,780
    Blog Entries
    13
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    164
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    796
    Thanked in
    495 Posts
    Likes: 98
    Liked 123 Times in 61 Posts

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    Quote Originally Posted by ecolnago View Post
    Thanks Andym,

    I'd actually given that path some thought, just never got to studying how to go about it. Obviously, I'm looking for the lazy way to get there.

    While I'm still on the fence with the EVF, I am growing to like the camera more and more. Tried to catch some lunar shots last nite, and trying to figure out how to manually focus with it on a big white dot was simply hopeless! Never had an issue with an optical VF. Hopefully I'll eventually figure that out, too. Hard part is I'll often go maybe 2 or 3 weeks w/o touching the camera, then trying to recall every mod I've made and how to get to it becomes very un-fun. Guess I just need to use it more. Thanks again for your advice.

    Todd
    Get the exposure right and then the details of the moon will be visible and you can focus quite easily. Manual focus is definitely the way to go, as well as manual exposure. Try ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/1000th. Avoid over exposure! Remember the moon moves quite fast so a reasonably fast shutter speed is required even if the camera is on a tripod. Turn off IS too.

    Ian
    Founder/editor
    Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
    Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
    Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
    Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
    Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
    Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    Shooting manual, 1/250 @ f11, ISO 200. (40-150 f2.8 pro lens). Think I'm ok on that. My issue is the image I see in my EVF does not truly reflect the image I am actually recording. Even bumping speed up to 1/8000 (f-stop and ISO remaining unchanged) does not change the image I see (big white blob) in my EVF. Was figuring this is just the way EVF behave?

    If the EVF image is supposed to appear as the same as the actual image I am recording, then I'm guessing I've somehow turned on some type of EVF visual 'modifier' (or something) that is overriding how the EVF should behave? Just not sure how to figure out how to get it back to where it should be.

    Todd

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,524
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    422
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    245
    Thanked in
    203 Posts
    Likes: 157
    Liked 103 Times in 74 Posts

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    I'm not sure about the E-M1, but on the E-M5, the EVF has a setting for Boost on/off. With the EFV Boost off, it will accurately reflect the exposure settings. With EVF Boost on, it will always brighten the view when lighting is dim, and the brightness will not change with exposure settings. It may be that you have the boost on, and the camera is reading the overall exposure as too dark because of the night sky around the moon, so it increases the overall brightness to the point that the moon is just a white circle.

    - Hal -
    A Still Mind - Photography, Music, Meditation, Ministry - www.astillmind.net
    Olympus E-M5; Panasonic-Leica DG Summilux 25mm; Zuiko 12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD; Sigma 105 Macro; Rokinon (Samyang) 7.5mm fisheye; Olympus 8/1.8 PRO fisheye; FL-50R; Giottos MT-8361 tripod with Gitzo GH2780QR ballhead.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    Thanks Hal,

    Found a 'live view boost' that was on. Don't know if that's a default setting or I accidentally changed it, but turning it off lets me get closer to what I'd expect out of an Optical VF. It generally still brightens things up a bit more than reality, but at least now it does adjust darker/brighter relative to changes of speed or aperture settings. With how this works just seeing the adjustments in viewing to and away from my computer monitor I can see that I would in all likelihood be able to see the detail of the moon, as opposed to a 'big white blob'. Thanks again.

    Todd

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Blue Mtns, N.S.W. Australia
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    306
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    211
    Thanked in
    174 Posts
    Likes: 247
    Liked 334 Times in 156 Posts

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    This was my take of the moon (the next night) as it rose higher in the sky (9:09pm Sydney, 50 minutes after moonrise).

    I used Manual (on E-M1), MF with Magnified View to get the sharpest focus using the 40-150 Pro lens plus MC14 & with IBIS on Auto, being hand held. This is a cropped image.



    E-M1, 40-150 Pro lens + MC14 at 210mm, ISO 200, F4.5 (because I bumped it by mistake), 1/400 sec. I admit that we may be a little closer to the equator which may also give me a little advantage in light perhaps, but that should help as a guide (I hope).

    It could have been even better with the 300 F4.0 lens though (with the MC14) but I'm afraid that is just wishful thinking on my part. I can't see myself getting that lens being the price that it is.

    Ross
    I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
    Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
    Lenses: M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, ZD12-60 SWD, ZD50-200 SWD, EC14, EC20, EX25, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
    Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
    Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts
    Likes: 5
    Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Designate Fn2 button to silent shutter?

    I never use manual for the moon,auto everything,E-M10MK11 i prefer the cloud one,Leica 100-400
    Attached Images Attached Images

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •