Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

    I'm trying to experiment with long exposures on my OM-D EM-1 but don't seem able to find these settings. I set the camera to manual (M) and then, with the rear dial, turn the dial to the lowest shutter speed where, according to my manual (Mastering the Olympus OM-D EM-1 by Darrell Young--excellent book, by the way!), I should see 'speed' entries called BULB, LIVE BULB and LIVE TIME. But...I never see any of these and the slowest shutter speed I am able to access is only 1/8 of a second.

    For what's it's worth, I made sure that Live BULB was set to something other than OFF in menu E, and that the ISO was set at a value rather than AUTO and that my focus ring was set to manual. And, I've loaded firmware version 4.0 with my lens firmware at version 1.0.

    Can anyone help me sort out what I might be overlooking?

    Many thanks--Dana Johnston, Eugene, Oregon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leura, Blue Mtns Australia
    Posts
    545
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    75
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    43 Posts
    Likes: 172
    Liked 22 Times in 19 Posts

    Re: no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

    Try a factory reset. The rear dial should (in manual mode), go down to 60secs, then Bulb etc.
    Rob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

    BINGO Rob!! A basic reset did the trick and reset very few of my customizations.

    Thanks for your help! Anatector

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: plot thickens: no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

    Dear Rob and others--After doing the basic reset that Rob recommended I spent the afternoon experimenting with Live Bulb and Live Time and all worked as it should have. Then, I did a quick check on mode S (shutter speed priority) to see if it also would go as long as 60 seconds and, lo and behold, it stopped at 1/8 of a second as mode M had the previous day. So I then checked on M again and found that it had reverted to yesterday's behavior and would also go no longer than 1/8 of a second anymore.

    So...I did the basic reset once again and it corrected the problem in both modes M and S. But, each time I do this, I have to go in and re-customize half a dozen or so things to settings I like which is a nuisance so my question for today is......

    ....does anyone have an idea what I might be doing that causes the camera to lose the ability for long exposures, longer than 1/8 second, and need repeated basic resetting?

    Thanks for any insights.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leura, Blue Mtns Australia
    Posts
    545
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    75
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    43 Posts
    Likes: 172
    Liked 22 Times in 19 Posts

    Re: no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

    Must be connected with those customised settings? I don't know, sorry.
    Cheers, Rob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Blue Mtns, N.S.W. Australia
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    306
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    211
    Thanked in
    174 Posts
    Likes: 247
    Liked 334 Times in 156 Posts

    Re: plot thickens: no Bulb, Live Bulb or Live Time

    Quote Originally Posted by Anatector View Post
    Dear Rob and others--After doing the basic reset that Rob recommended I spent the afternoon experimenting with Live Bulb and Live Time and all worked as it should have. Then, I did a quick check on mode S (shutter speed priority) to see if it also would go as long as 60 seconds and, lo and behold, it stopped at 1/8 of a second as mode M had the previous day. So I then checked on M again and found that it had reverted to yesterday's behavior and would also go no longer than 1/8 of a second anymore.

    So...I did the basic reset once again and it corrected the problem in both modes M and S. But, each time I do this, I have to go in and re-customize half a dozen or so things to settings I like which is a nuisance so my question for today is......

    ....does anyone have an idea what I might be doing that causes the camera to lose the ability for long exposures, longer than 1/8 second, and need repeated basic resetting?

    Thanks for any insights.
    Yes, you were probably using Silent Shutter (electronic shutter) which has a limited shutter speed & ISO range. This information is on page 172 of the latest User Manual (Version 4.0).
    I assume you also have the latest firmware 4.1 in the camera too? The Reset would have worked because it would have put it back to Normal Shutter.

    I hope that helps.

    Ross
    I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
    Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
    Lenses: M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, ZD12-60 SWD, ZD50-200 SWD, EC14, EC20, EX25, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
    Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
    Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •