Thread: firmware updates

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

firmware updates

Hello guys! I just registered. This is my first time to join forums. I am no pro photographer, just an enthusiast or a hobbyist at the most. I've had my omd em5 for over 2 years now and haven't really used it much. I went to Korea the other week bringing with me my Sony camera. I was thinking of bringing my oly but decided not to due to additional weight on my back. I actually regretted that decision. Now I'm trying to relearn and get the most out of this expensive, not used much camera. Hope you guys can help me.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Re: firmware updates

My omd em5 is still on the v1.2 firmware. I saw in the Olympus Web site that it already had several updates. Would appreciate if you guys could tell me whether I could upgrade v1.2 directly to the latest version, or do I need to do it one upgrade at a time until I get to the latest.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    205 Posts
    Liked 103 Times in 74 Posts

If you use the Olympus Updater software, I believe that it will tell you if you can update directly to the latest version. I recently updated my E-M5 to the latest firmware, and I didn't have the most recent previous version; it allowed me to update directly to the latest, but I don't recall which version I had installed before.

- Hal -
    A Still Mind - Photography, Music, Meditation, Ministry - www.astillmind.net
    Olympus E-M5; Panasonic-Leica DG Summilux 25mm; Zuiko 12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD; Sigma 105 Macro; Rokinon (Samyang) 7.5mm fisheye; Olympus 8/1.8 PRO fisheye; FL-50R; Giottos MT-8361 tripod with Gitzo GH2780QR ballhead.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    177 Posts
    Liked 334 Times in 156 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by duff64 View Post