Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    .

    Hey all,

    Well, I see that the E-1 subforum has been running a thread, or two, a year.
    So, I guess I'll make sure that the ole E-1 gets at least one post logged in 2015.
    So, here we go.

    I guess a “bare bones” wording of the issue is:

    Can an E-1 be “tethered” to an iPad just to be able to “see” each picture “big” right after being taken?

    Long version is:
    I have never had the need to do this, but I’m trying to help a friend of mine.
    He shoots table top images of a small item he manufactures.
    His photography setup is in his basement.
    His computer is two levels up.
    He finds himself shooting a picture, climbing two flights of stairs, downloading it to his computer to see how the picture came out, then back down to the basement to (often) re-shoot.
    Up the stairs, down the stairs, rinse, repeat.

    He was grousing about this to me, and I was just thinking...

    He can’t realistically bring his desktop computer to the basement, but he does have an iPad.
    Can he tether his E-1 to his iPad so that he can “see” the picture “big” to evaluate it, right then, right there? No stairs to climb. And the whole process cycles much quicker.

    If the answer is "yes", please give me as much detail as you can as to what is needed, how it is done, etc.

    Note: he would want the file to go to the card in the E-1.
    The file could or couldn’t also go to the iPad.
    But it needs to be on the camera’s card, to download to the computer at the end.

    Thanks,

    James

    P.S. FYI - my friend has Studio 2 and Photoshop Elements

    .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    Posts
    544
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    46
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    59
    Thanked in
    45 Posts
    Likes: 13
    Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    Unless he can run Studio 2 software on iPad, then answer is (most probably) no.
    I can think of solution that is really silly, ie. to have the main PC (running Oly Studio 2)connected with looooong cable to the E-1 and iPad running Remote desktop, to see and control what is happening on the PC (via WiFi or whatever). Crazy and maybe not possible as well.

    Easiest solution - cheap netbook (nothing fancy, just to run XP) with screen big enough to see what is going on.
    Regards, Pavel.

    E-1(x2) | ZD 14-45 | ZD 14-54 | ZD 40-150 Mk.1 | ZD 70-300 | FL-50 | Velbon Sherpa 750R
    M42(Pancolar 50/1.8, Pentacon 200/4)+ M42->4/3 reduction

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,535
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    430
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    252
    Thanked in
    206 Posts
    Likes: 157
    Liked 103 Times in 74 Posts

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    The best solution to viewing photos on an iPad may be one of Apple's camera adapters: http://store.apple.com/us/accessorie...igital-cameras. Note that there are several versions, depending upon which iPad your friend has and what connector is on the other end (USB or an SD card reader).

    If he has a newer iPad with the lightning connector, the right adapter is this one: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD...253e087448a913. It has a USB connector on the end, so he would also need a card reader to plug into the USB port. Note that some card readers use too much power for the iPad; to get these to work, you also need a powered hub (between the adapter and the card reader). But if you find a card reader with low power requirements, he can just remove the card from the camera, plug it into the card reader, and bring up an image on the iPad. It's not as convenient as tethering since it involves an additional step, but it's much easier than running up and down the stairs.

    For an older iPad with the 30-pin connector, there is this version: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC...253e087448a913. It includes two adapters, one with a USB port and one with an SD card reader. Just use the USB version as I described above.

    - Hal -
    A Still Mind - Photography, Music, Meditation, Ministry - www.astillmind.net
    Olympus E-M5; Panasonic-Leica DG Summilux 25mm; Zuiko 12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD; Sigma 105 Macro; Rokinon (Samyang) 7.5mm fisheye; Olympus 8/1.8 PRO fisheye; FL-50R; Giottos MT-8361 tripod with Gitzo GH2780QR ballhead.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Coos Bay
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Likes: 1
    Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    The least expensive method is to use the olympus share app. These are Half the resolution of shot resolution JPEG images. But he can shoot the images and view the results on his iPad of these images after setting up the wifi on his camera setting his iPad to the E-1 wifi local signal under the iPad setting menu. Then open the olympus share app on his iPad and select import images. The images appear on his iPad.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,535
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    430
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    252
    Thanked in
    206 Posts
    Likes: 157
    Liked 103 Times in 74 Posts

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    James is talking about the E-1, i.e. the original 4/3 camera, not the new OMD E-M1. The E-1 predates wifi in cameras by many years.

    - Hal -
    A Still Mind - Photography, Music, Meditation, Ministry - www.astillmind.net
    Olympus E-M5; Panasonic-Leica DG Summilux 25mm; Zuiko 12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD; Sigma 105 Macro; Rokinon (Samyang) 7.5mm fisheye; Olympus 8/1.8 PRO fisheye; FL-50R; Giottos MT-8361 tripod with Gitzo GH2780QR ballhead.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Rainham
    Posts
    1,008
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    53
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    74
    Thanked in
    62 Posts
    Likes: 30
    Liked 29 Times in 20 Posts

    Lightbulb Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    I think the best way to do this is with a Compact Flash adapter that will take a WiFi SD Card.

    That way the card is simply read wireless by the iPad.

    There are several WiFi cards available, just get the one that has an iPad APP
    Graham

    Keep smiling, it gets folk wondering what you've been up to

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    BREAKTHROUGH and a question!




    Hey everyone, and thanks for the replies.

    Unfortunately, I can’t comment on any of them.
    I’m an old geezer, don’t have an iPad myself, live with a HiFi not WiFi, etc.
    All I could do is pass your posts on to my friend.

    But I DO have this question:

    I HAVE JUST FOUND, on page 112 of the E-1 Manual, a section entitled
    ~ PLAYBACK TO A TV ~

    The E-1 has a “Video Out” jack just below the USB connector (behind the little door).
    Basically, all you do is connect the proper cable between the E-1 and the video input terminal of the (pretty much any modern?) TV (or just a flat panel!?!)

    Then, when you press the “Playback” button ▶ the images on the card come up on the TV screen, instead of the LCD on the back of the E-1.

    Easy-Peazy! (it seems, anyway).

    Here is my question:

    With the E-1 so tethered, can you
    - come out of playback mode and continue shooting with the E-1
    - go back into playback mode and look at your pichers
    - come out of playback mode and shoot some more
    - go back into playback mode and look at pichers
    - etc.

    i.e., shoot as normal with the camera tethered to the TV?

    My GUESS is: sure you can.

    Does anybody KNOW that you can (if you don’t “know” then you just got a guess like I do, right?)

    Thanks,

    James




  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,535
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    430
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    252
    Thanked in
    206 Posts
    Likes: 157
    Liked 103 Times in 74 Posts

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    I used the video output on an Olympus E-410 (a later, lower model than the E-1), but I never tried taking pictures while it was connected to the TV. I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work, though. One thing to note is that the output to the TV is fairly low resolution, so it may or may not be good enough for your friend's purposes. If he has a TV right there in the basement, it's certainly worth a try.

    - Hal -
    A Still Mind - Photography, Music, Meditation, Ministry - www.astillmind.net
    Olympus E-M5; Panasonic-Leica DG Summilux 25mm; Zuiko 12-60 SWD, 50-200 SWD; Sigma 105 Macro; Rokinon (Samyang) 7.5mm fisheye; Olympus 8/1.8 PRO fisheye; FL-50R; Giottos MT-8361 tripod with Gitzo GH2780QR ballhead.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Rainham
    Posts
    1,008
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    53
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    74
    Thanked in
    62 Posts
    Likes: 30
    Liked 29 Times in 20 Posts

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    Just plugged my E-500 into the TV via the USB to RCA(Yellow) lead.

    The TV displays the SCP until the shutter is pressed, then the image appeares on the TV screen until the shutter is pressed again.

    I believe the E-1 works the same way.
    Graham

    Keep smiling, it gets folk wondering what you've been up to

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Likes: 0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can you "tether" an E-1 to an iPad?

    .

    Thanks everyone

    Say, Graham...

    You describe the cable you used as "USB to RCA(Yellow)"

    Now... the picture of the cable in the E-1 manual on p.112,
    and I assume the one supplied with the E-1,
    is, they don't name it, but I thought this was a "phono" plug (they show on both ends)?

    Technology and electronics isn't my strong suit.
    So...
    Will "any" cable do, as long as it is
    - the proper size pin to fit to the E-1, and
    - whatever termination the TV requires
    ?

    i.e., does the "wire" itself not matter (gauge, strands of wire inside the cable, whatever)?
    Just so it is terminated properly for each device?

    Thanks,

    James

    .
    Last edited by Russ II; 29th May 2015 at 11:11 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HELP! Which zoom-lens to choose? "panas.40-200 OIS" vs "Oly.40-150"
    By hellmett in forum Lumix DMC-GF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th April 2014, 08:39 AM
  2. The 149th FT-U Salon Theme."With something really yellow"".
    By Horacio in forum Four Thirds User Salon
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 15th February 2014, 05:06 PM
  3. "Hey, boys." "Yeah, what!?
    By Ross in forum For the Album
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th January 2014, 11:50 PM
  4. HELP! GF1 error message "make sure the lens is attached correctly"
    By yorkef in forum Lumix DMC-GF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd August 2010, 06:29 PM
  5. Bibble Labs announce version 4.9.8 of its "Pro" and "Lite" RAW workflow software
    By Four Thirds User editorial team in forum Recently published FTU articles
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th August 2007, 03:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •