Thread: Looking for advice on walking around with large lenses

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Looking for advice on walking around with large lenses

Sorry if this has been asked before, I've searched but didn't know what to look for.

I usually like walking around with my camera and lens around my neck (usually a 12-60 or 50mm)

I just picked up a lens I've been dreaming about for 5 years now and was finally able to afford (150 F2) and was wondering how people would walk around with it normally.

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I figure you can't put it around your deck due to the weight possibly damaging the camera, and walking around holding it seems impractical but my best solution.

Thanks for all help and advice
    E-5: ZD 50mm, Sigma 105mm macro, ZD 150mm; ZD 7-14, 12-60SWD, 50-200SWD, Sigma 50-500mm, EC-14.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    45 Posts
    Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts

Re: Looking for advice on walking around with large lenses

You can use some of the straps like Black Rapid, etc. , mounted into the lens tripod collar. If you set the length properly, the lens-camera combo should be hanging at your side(or back) at the waist level, still ready to be used anytime.
    Regards, Pavel.

E-1(x2) | ZD 14-45 | ZD 14-54 | ZD 40-150 Mk.1 | ZD 70-300 | FL-50 | Velbon Sherpa 750R
    M42(Pancolar 50/1.8, Pentacon 200/4)+ M42->4/3 reduction

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    66 Posts
    Liked 30 Times in 23 Posts

A sling type strap attached to the lens tripod foot will work. My usual method is to mount the lens on the tripod/monopod and carry the rig over my shoulder. Having used a few lenses with their own strap lugs I have to say I've never carried them that way. ..
    It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.

The Grumpy Snapper blog.

Thanks Thanks Given