PDA

View Full Version : Just released software for tether shooting with E-System cameras

rfman
8th February 2009, 08:40 AM
Hmm... I hope i don't run afoul with any "no-commercial" rules. Anyway, I love my E-3, and shooting it in tether mode is great. Except that I don't like Studio 2 that much, especially since all I use it for is the tether support.

Since I am a software developer, I just bought the SDK and knocked off a small program that does the job nice and fast. Works great with ACDSee and Lightroom. Here's the readme file. For more info, contact. The webpage will be up tomorrow. Program is here if you want to try it: http://www.imagecraft.com/pub/E-Capture-setup.exe

ImageCraft E-Capture
Copyright (C) 2009 ImageCraft Creations Inc.
web: http://www.imagecraft.com
email: richard@imagecraft.com
blog: http://rfman.wordpress.com

E-Capture is a program that performs a simple task: it captures images from an Olympus E-System camera tethered to the PC's USB port and saves the images to disk as fast as possible. It does not display images, nor does it have an image browser, leaving that job to an image browsing or cataloging program such as ACDSee, Bibble, Lightroom etc.

Since it is a very small program, it is much faster to use than Olympus Studio 2 for those who are only interested in the tether support of Studio 2. All E-System cameras are supported, from the original E-1 to the latest E-30.

Currently, E-Capture only saves the images to disk. In some future release, we may support direct export to Lightroom. Currently, if you are using Lightroom, you will need to set up Lightroom to auto-import images from
E-Capture's output directory.

The images are named as a sequence of 2 digits: yymmddhrmn for year, month, day, hour, minutes respectively, and if necessary, an additional 2 digit second value is added to make the file names unique. The file extension is .ORF for RAW files and .JPG for JPEG files.