PDA

View Full Version : PAL or NTSC

Minkara
20th December 2011, 08:14 AM
I'm about to buy a GH2 but want to shoot in PAL.
Does anyone know if the GH2 can shoot both PAL and NTSC, or whether you need to buy a PAL or NTSC version. I know you can choose the video output, but there is no mention of the shooting format on any website.
Maybe it is a firmware update?
How can you tell whether it will shoot PAL or not.

If I buy from Hong Kong it is difficult to know what you will get.

Sir Otto
20th December 2011, 02:13 PM
I'm no expert on these things but I'm thinking the PAL/NTSC option would affect only the video output when displaying on a standard television, and has no effect on the recording format which will presumably be MP4 or similar.

PAL and NTSC are television standards and as such define the characteristics of the analogue composite video signal. They were defined long before anyone dreamed of digital video recording. So you won't be shooting in either PAL or NTSC, the camera will only generate a video signal in one of those formats when you play back on a TV.

Ned
20th December 2011, 05:14 PM
If you really wanted to restrict yourself to Standard Definition, then I believe you probably would need a PAL version of the camera. However, is there a reason you can't just shoot in HD or Full HD?

RobertD
20th December 2011, 07:14 PM
There is a big difference in PAL/NTSC when it comes to shooting, editing etc. Frame rates are a pain to convert from NTSC to PAL or vice a versa. PAL is also different not just in SD (frame rate, pixel aspect), but also in HD because of the frame rates per second.
So if you need PAL get the PAL GH2. I bought my PAL version from Hong Kong from DigitalRev (just specify the PAL version).
Another option is to hack your GH2, then it becomes switchable between PAL and NTSC.
Cheers, Rob

Minkara
20th December 2011, 08:27 PM
Thanks, exactly what I wanted to know.
It is frustrating that Panasonic don't make it more clear.